BASF Press Release

The Bar Association of San Francisco Nominates Officer and Directors for 2022 Board

September 21, 2021, San Francisco—The Bar Association of San Francisco’s (BASF) Nominating Committee has nominated seven directors to serve on its Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee, chaired by immediate past president Stuart Plunkett, Alston & Bird, also recommended a candidate for the office of secretary. 

President-Elect Mary McNamara, Swanson & McNamara, will succeed to the office of the president in 2022; Vidhya Prabhakaran, Davis Wright Tremaine, will serve as president-elect; Teresa L. Johnson, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer, will serve as treasurer. The nominee for secretary is Charles Jung, Nassiri & Jung LLP.

Nominated to serve as directors are Erin Connell, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe; Matthew Gluck, Gluck Daniel; Laura Hurtado, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman; Paul Moore, California Department of Justice; Catherine Ongiri, Judicial Council of California; Tony Schoenberg, Farella Braun + Martel; and Demetria Vong-Spillan, Bank of America. 

The new board members will be joining the following continuing board members: Katherine Lubin Benson, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein; Cristine Soto De Berry, Prosecutors Alliance of California; Jamie L. Dupree, Futterman Dupree Dodd Croley Maier; Holly Gaudreau, Facebook; David Kelly, Golden State Warriors; Elinor Leary, The Veen Firm;  David Rizk, Office of the Federal Public Defender; Karen Scarr;  Khari J. Tillery, Keker, Van Nest & Peters; and Charles (Chuck) Thompson, Greenberg Traurig.

Members of the association may petition to run for a seat on the board or for the offices of president-elect, treasurer or secretary. The petition, which must be signed by one percent (61) active members of the association, must be received in the BASF offices no later than noon, October 15, 2021. If there is more than one nominee for any office, or more than six nominees for director, an election of BASF members will be held.

Outgoing members include 2021 President Marvin Anderson, AT&T Services, Inc.; Phyra McCandless, Aids Legal Referral Panel; Steve Hirsch, Keker, Van Nest & Peters; Erick Howard, Shartsis Friese; Peggy Otum, WilmerHale; Ragesh Tangri, Durie Tangri; and Erica Villanueva, Farella Braun Martel.

The 2022 officers and board members will be installed at the Annual Membership Luncheon on December 16, 2021.

The Bar Association of San Francisco (BASF) is a nonprofit voluntary membership organization of attorneys, law students, and legal professionals in the San Francisco Bay Area. Founded in 1872, BASF enjoys the support of more than 7,500 individuals, law firms, corporate legal departments, and law schools. BASF provides a collective voice for public advocacy, advances professional growth and education, and attempts to elevate the standards of integrity, honor, and respect in the practice of law.