

FROM THE NEWSROOM

The Bar Association of San Francisco Announces Award of Merit Recipients and Barrister of the Year Awards

AWARDS WILL BE PRESENTED AT ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP LUNCHEON ON DECEMBER 10

November 21 -- San Francisco - The Bar Association of San Francisco (BASF) is pleased to recognize members of the legal community with 2014 Awards of Merit at its Annual Luncheon on December 10. Awards are presented to individuals who have greatly contributed to the organization during the year and beyond. Additionally, the Barristers Club will present the Barrister of the Year award to two individuals who have made outstanding contributions to BASF's new attorney division.

Teresa Johnson, Arnold & Porter, will be recognized for her work as chair of the Executive Director Search Committee. BASF's new executive director will be announced at the Annual Luncheon.

Karen Kimmey, Farella Braun + Martel, will be recognized for her work as chair of the Justice & Diversity Center's Individual Giving Campaign.

Richard Zitrin will be recognized for his generosity in providing an endowment for the Bay Area Minority Law Student Scholarship program, a program he has long supported.

The following individuals will be recognized for their work as chairs of the various It Starts With a Day volunteer events held throughout 2014:

Legal Advice and Referral Clinic:

Jay DeGooyer, Hewlett-Packard Company Joan Haratani, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius

Lawyers in Schools: Law Day

Monique Liburd, Google Ann Nguyen, Phan Nguyen & Associates Rob Shives, Fujitsu North America

Log Cabin High School Garden Project Jeff Bornstein, K&L Gates

Service 4 Service: Veterans Court Project

Alfredo Vea, Law Offices of Alfredo Vea Amy Weaver, Salesforce.com



FROM THE NEWSROOM

The Bar Association of San Francisco Announces Award of Merit Recipients and Barrister of the Year Awards (continued)

Douglas Young, Farella Braun + Martel

School-To-College: College Application Assistance

Jeremiah Gordon, Google Lee Marshall, Bryan Cave Alexandra Vesalga, TrustE

Department of Defense Task Force

The following individuals will be recognized for their work on BASF's Department of Defense Task Force, which consisted of six attorneys and two law students:

Jill Hoffman, Imai, Tadlock, Keeney & Cordery, Scott Joiner, U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of California Michael Maffei, U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of California Isabelle Ord, DLA Piper Mark Petersen, Farella Braun + Martel Mark Schickman, Freeland Cooper & Foreman

Barrister of the Year

Carolyn Lee, Abkin Law and Eric Toscano, Toscano, Kellogg & Van Aken are both being recognized with Barrister of the Year Awards. Lee was chosen for her continued contributions to the club and to its newest members. She has been a constant supporter of Mind the Gap and its initiatives since its inception. Toscano was chosen for his constant support and enthusiasm for the club, including his contributions to the Mind Solo and Small Firm Attorney Toolkit published in 2013. He continues to mentor and assist new attorneys looking to start their own firm.

###

The Bar Association of San Francisco (BASF) is a nonprofit voluntary membership organization of over 8,000 attorneys, law students and legal professionals in the Bay Area. Founded in 1872, BASF is one of the largest and most dynamic metropolitan bar associations in the U.S., with a long and distinguished record of community action, public service and service to the legal profession.