back to Screen-Friendly page


BASF Nominates Officer and Directors for 2011

September 20, 2010 – San Francisco -- The Bar Association of San Francisco’s Nominating Committee has nominated five directors to serve on its Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee, chaired by immediate past President Russell Roeca, Roeca Haas Hager LLP, also recommended a candidate for the office of secretary.

President-elect Priya Sanger, Wells Fargo Bank Legal Department, will succeed to the office of the president in 2011. Kelly Dermody, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein, LLP, will serve as president-elect; Christopher Kearney, Keker & Van Nest LLP, will serve as treasurer. The nominee for secretary is Stephanie Skaff, Farella Braun + Martel LLP.

Nominated for directors to serve in 2011, 2012 and 2013 are Krystal Bowen, Bingham McCutchen LLP; Michael Tubach, O’Melveny & Myers LLP; Stuart Plunkett, Morrison & Foerster, LLP; David Lowe, Rudy, Exelrod, Zieff & Lowe, LLP; and Stuart Hanlon, Hanlon & Rief LLP.

Members of the Association may petition to run for a seat on the board or for the offices of president-elect, treasurer or secretary. The petition, which must be signed by one percent (77) active members of the Association, must be received in the BASF office no later than noon, October 8, 2010. If there is more than one nominee for any office, or more than five nominees for director, an election of BASF members will be held.

The new board members will be joining the following continuing board members: Monty Agarwal, Arnold & Porter; Merri Baldwin, Chapman Popik & White; Doris Cheng, Walkup Melodia Kelly & Schoenberger; Haywood Gilliam, Covington & Burling; Jonathan Hayden, Lovitt & Hannan; Catherine Kirkman, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati; Susan Kumagai, Lafayette & Kumagai; Timothy Moppin, Bullivant Houser Bailey; Isabelle Salgado, AT&T; Tracy Salisbury, Shartsis Friese; David Tsai, Townsend and Townsend & Crew; Guy Wallace, Schneider Wallace Cottrell Brayton Konecky; and one representative from the Minority Bar Coalition to be named at a later date.

The 2011 officers and board members will be installed at the BASF Annual Membership Luncheon on December 14 at the Julia Morgan Ballroom in San Francisco.

The Bar Association of San Francisco (BASF) is a nonprofit voluntary membership organization of over 8,000 attorneys, law students and legal professionals in the Bay Area. Founded in 1872, BASF is one of the largest and most dynamic metropolitan bar associations in the U.S., with a long and distinguished record of community action, public service and service to the legal profession.

Questions about media relations, BASF issues currently in the news, San Francisco Attorney magazine, marketing and communications:

Ann Murphy, Director of Communications & Public Relations
(415) 782-9000 x8792

For general communications inquiries:

Sayre Happich, Assistant Director of Communications & Public Relations
(415) 782-9000 x8104