back to Screen-Friendly page


BASF Nominates New Officers and Directors for 2006

September 21 , 2005 - San Francisco —The Bar Association of San Francisco's 2005 Nominating Committee has nominated six directors to serve on its Board of Directors. The  committee, chaired by immediate past president Jon Streeter, also recommended a candidate for the office of secretary.

President-Elect Joan Haratani of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP will succeed to the office of the president in 2006. Nanci Clarence of Clarence & Dyer will serve as BASF's president elect and James Donato of Cooley Godward as treasurer.

Nominee for secretary is:

Russell Roeca, Roeca Haas Hager, LLP

Nominated for directors to serve in 2006, 2007 and 2008 are:

L. Julius Turman , Haight, Brown & Bonesteel, LLP
Betsy McDaniel, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton, LLP
Eliza Rodriguez, Stoel Rives, LLP
Joe Malkin, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP
Angela Padilla, Morrison & Foerster, LLP
Jim Weixel, Trevor & Weixel, LLP

Members of the Association may petition to run for a seat on the Board or for the offices of president-elect, treasurer or secretary. The petition, which must be signed by 1% (75) active members of the Association, must be received in the BASF office no later than noon, October 10, 2005. If there is more than one nominee for any office or more than six nominees for director, an election of BASF members will be held.

The 2006 officers and board members will be installed at the BASF Annual Membership Luncheon in December.

The Bar Association of San Francisco (BASF) is a nonprofit voluntary membership organization of over 8,000 attorneys, law students and legal professionals in the Bay Area. Founded in 1872, BASF is one of the largest and most dynamic metropolitan bar associations in the U.S., with a long and distinguished record of community action, public service and service to the legal profession.

Questions about media relations, BASF issues currently in the news, San Francisco Attorney magazine, marketing and communications:

Ann Murphy, Director of Communications & Public Relations
(415) 782-9000 x8792

For general communications inquiries:

Sayre Happich, Assistant Director of Communications & Public Relations
(415) 782-9000 x8104